Saturday 21 November 2015

2016 Plans So Far for Parallel Universe Publications

Our twelth and final book for 2015
Kate Farrell's collection, And Nobody Lived Happily Ever After, will end this year for Parallel Universe Publications with its twelth book in as many months. Whether 2016 will be as productive it's too soon to say but we already have four books definitely lined up:
Fishhead: The Darker Tales of Irvin S. Cobb, which will be published initially as a limited edition hardback
England "B": Ninety Minutes of Hell by Richard Staines
Classic Weird 2, over 300 pages of classic stories
A Saucerful of Secrets by Andrew Darlington, tales of science fiction, science fantasy, and horror

We are also looking at another great collection of short stories which would bring the total up to five - not a bad start!

To be published 2016

Wednesday 11 November 2015

Free Ebook Promotion for Friday 13th

To help take your mind off Friday the 13th we are offering a free ebook promotion from the 13th till the17th November. Our classic weird tales collection, Things That Go Bump in the Night will be available for a free download during this period.

Enjoy the following tales:
The Ghoul Sir Hugh Clifford
The House of the Nightmare Edward Lucas White
The Voice in the Night William Hope Hodgson
The Thing from Outside George Allan England
For the Blood is the Life F. Marion Crawford
The White Wolf of the Hartz Mountains Frederick Marryat
The Room in the Tower E. F. Benson
His Unconquered Enemy W. C. Morrow
The Late Mrs. Fowke Amyas Northcote
XĂ©lucha M. P. Shiel
A Narrow Escape Lord Dunsany
Thurnley Abbey Perceval Landon
The Black Stone Robert E, Howard
Werewolf of the Sahara G. G. Pendarves
The Devil of the Marsh Henry Brereton Marriott Watson
Fishhead Irvin S. Cobb
The Black Statue Huan Mee
The Pool of the Stone God Abraham Merritt
The Sea-Witch Nictzin Dyalhis
The Lady’s Maid’s Bell Edith Wharton

Tuesday 10 November 2015

Proof copy received for And Nobody Lived Happily Ever After by Kate Farrell

The proof copy for Kate Farrell's brilliant collection of short stories, And Nobody Lived Happily Ever After, arrived today. The book will be published by Parallel Universe, on December 1st.

Friday 6 November 2015

Great reviews of Their Cramped Dark World and of His Own Mad Demons on the BFS website

There are two great reviews of David A. Riley's two short story collections, Their Cramped Dark World and His Own Mad Demons,  from Parallel Universe on the British Fantasy Society website.

"Riley’s work is classic horror – he doesn’t resort to swearing or unnecessary depictions of torture to attract his readers.  His tales are all set in environments that will be very familiar to many Brits – the pub plays a big part in some of his stories.   If you’ve not tried Riley’s work before, this is a perfect introduction to his own brand of horror.  I can’t recommend it highly enough."

"Riley’s work will appeal to all fans of horror – it feels like “classic horror”, with tales of witchcraft, demons and zombies.  All complete page turners, Riley is one to read and return to, again and again."

Wednesday 4 November 2015

Parallel Universe to publish Andrew Darlington's A Saucerful of Secrets in 2016

We can now announce that Parallel Universe will be publishing a 200-page collection of stories by Andrew Darlington in 2016. A Saucerful of Secrets: Fourteen Stories of Fantasy, Warped Sci-Fi & Perverse Horror will include stories previously published in Tigershark, Worlds of the Unknown, Hellfire Crossroads, Premonitions: Cause for Alarm, and Tears in the Fence.
Andrew has had three previous books published: I Was Elvis Presley's Bastard Love-Child, Eighteen interviews drawn from twenty years of music journalism (Headpress/Critical Vision - 2001); Euroshima Mon Amour, Thirty-two science fiction poems 'From the Inner Mind to the Outer Limits' (Hilltop Press - 2001); and Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey: Sly Stallone and Black Power, music biography (Leaky Book Press - 2014)

More details later.